You must login () to review.
Reviewer: blossomhaiku Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2016 12:54 am Title: Saying Goodbye

Bittersweet. Very good.

Reviewer: blossomhaiku Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2016 12:44 am Title: The Wings of an Angel

Very moving.

Reviewer: blossomhaiku Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2016 12:34 am Title: The Wings of an Angel

I love how supportive everyone is in this. The end, with the talk of a vision, gave me chills. Lovely.

Reviewer: blossomhaiku Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2016 12:25 am Title: Pulling Together

Very sweet, beautiful story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. It brought tears of happiness (as well as some sadness) to my eyes.

Reviewer: christella2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2015 11:22 pm Title: The Admiral

this is wonderful, I adore this story and it is building nicely to more drama....can,t wait !!!!!
more soon please

Reviewer: lsmcfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2015 05:25 pm Title: The Witch

I do feel bad for what happened to Diane though ...

Thanks :)

Reviewer: lsmcfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2015 05:08 pm Title: Settling the Estate

Yes, family is important :)

:)

Reviewer: lsmcfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2015 04:38 pm Title: The Wings of an Angel

I love the idea of the angel picture-it's wonderful!

Thanks :)

Reviewer: lsmcfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2015 01:11 am Title: Pulling Together

Wonderful story Emerald! I will definitely be reading the rest of the series

Thanks:)

Reviewer: gholtlforever Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2015 08:22 pm Title: The Admiral

Finally found my sign-in info for this site so I can tell you how much I am enjoying this whole series. There is nothing about this that I have not enjoyed, so thank you for the updates.

Best wishes for NaNoWriMo.

Reviewer: StarsinHerHair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2015 10:17 pm Title: The Admiral

Great chapter! They both seem to be trying to understand each other, maybe the Admiral more than Tim (but of course, he does have more to prove to them both). Hope this continues when he finds out just who Tim is seeing.

As always, Tiana is a scene stealer - too cute, especially when she takes both Tim and her grandfather by the hand. And her Mary-anna sauce, wonderful!

Good luck with your writing this month, absolutely cannot wait to read it!

Love, Stars

Reviewer: Ncisrox Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2015 02:36 pm Title: The Admiral

Just saw your note about your son on another site. Wishing him a speedy recovery now that the problem has been identified.

Reviewer: Ncisrox Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2015 09:37 am Title: The Admiral

The Admiral's reaction to everyone in the restaurant knowing his granddaughter and what she likes is great. His surprise at seeing her ease with foods that most children won't touch and then comparing it to the way Tim ate as a child was another win for our little family. I especially love the way that the Admiral, just like Diane, assumes that if Tim is cooking it, it must be from a package. It's a shame that Tim's injuries prevent him from showing what he can really do in the kitchen.

I also love the ease between Tia, Tim and the restaurant staff. The way that they take Tia's favorites as a given, and she just simply turns to her grandfather to tell him that they always get the soup is so natural. We have a restaurant or two in NY thst knows my 5 year old nephew that way, and much like here, start bring things out without question while the rest of us peruse our menus for main courses. It's a wonderful feeling to see people care for a child like that.

The introduction of Commander Brown and the resulting conversation between father and son will hopefully continue to reinforce for the Admiral just why it is that his son is doing just exactly what he should with his life professionally as well as personally. I think the realization that Penny was let in on being a great grandmother while the Admiral was kept in the dark will also remind the Admiral that Tim will not put up with any negativity regarding his relationship with his daughter or his lifestyle.

Reviewer: Smartkid37 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2015 07:46 am Title: The Admiral

A truely awesome chapter - including the two outstanding moments of humor that had me almost rolling on the floor with laughter.

"I have an entire ship."
"Did you bring it?"  

 and the imagery of a the technophobic Gibbs knowing how to send a copy of a picture to his own phone.

priceless!!

looking forward to the next chapter!!



Author's Response:

Thanks.  The innocence of the child, you gotta love it.

Remember, this is early enough that Ducky hasn't migrated to a smartphone yet, so there is hope for Gibbs.

Reviewer: Ncisrox Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2015 11:43 am Title: The Admiral

There is so much going on in this chapter that I feel like I need to read it again in order to take it all in. I knew Jarvis would show up at some point, but I was surprised that he was actually helpful. I love how he made sure to say hello to Tiana before he acknowledged her father and grandfather. Perhaps the Admiral will figure out that letting his guard down with his granddaughter is a good thing? Jarvis' simple statement of Tim's accomplishment and the forthcoming accolades and opportunities was great. More food for thought for the Admiral is a good thing.

It's great that Ducky made Gibbs aware of the situation and I'm glad he kept Gibbs from barging in. Tim and Tiana are making their own case quite nicely. Reinforcements can wait just a little longer.

The offer to help with the groceries, the tea party, lunch out and the shoe buckle song question show just how much tough old Admiral Grandpa is beginning to thaw. I'm sure there are plenty of bumps ahead, but the truce, no matter how temporary is wonderful.

It's good to know that there is one more on Tim's side when the case comes back to haunt her m, as you've dropped hints that it will.

Author's Response:

A lot going on.  Remember, Jarvis credits his grandson with bridging the gap between father and son and he was suggesting to Tim that the same thing could happen between Tim and John. (Unhelpful Help)  John certainly heard enough to know that even as a civilian, Tim is raking in the kudos from the Navy.  Probably more than he would have been as a Naval officer since it was his position as a civilian that let him view the big picture.

As much as Gibbs wanted to ride to their rescue, Ducky was right.  Tim needed to do this on his own.  Besides, John would never even begin to respect Tim under those circumstances.

Yep, like the saying goes - no matter how big and bad you are, when a kid hands you a play phone, you answer it.  No matter what his relationship is with Tim, he's not going to be an ass to a little girl and along the way, he's learning a lot.  Hopefuly it will be enough, soon enough because there's more coming - and it's coming in waves.

Reviewer: Ncisrox Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2015 07:53 am Title: The Admiral

I love the set up of this story. Using the conversation between Admiral and subordinate to have John McGee reminiscing about a similar argument with his son gives great perspective. I can't even imagine how it would feel as a parent to get the kind of news the Admiral was given about his son's fall, especially when it's days after the fact and he knows he can't just pick up the phone to check on Tim. That would be terrifying.

The tenderness and worry that Gibbs shows for McGee and the soothing effect it has on Tim makes me feel happy. Moving slow or not, these two men clearly are falling in love and it's harder for them to hide it, especially when they have no audience. I can only imagine Gibbs' reaction when he learns that Tim was left to deal with is father alone while in his injured state.

As usual, Tiana is wonderful. I love her easy way with people and her disarming childish honesty. It not only gets things,like papa, out in the open, but it reminds even someone as unbending as John McGee to slow down and possibly even listen. Tiana telling him he tied her shoes wrong because he didn't sing her the shoe tying song made me laugh. I hope by then end of the weekend he bends his military bearing enough to sing with his granddaughter.

Author's Response:

Thanks.  It was fun setting this one up, laying the little trails right from almost the beginning of the series.  Here is a man that spent his children's lifetime chasing the brass ring and now that he's at the top and alone, beginning to question his choices.  Before he can come to terms with the mistakes he's made, he's faced with the possibility that it might be too late.  That's a scary thing to happen.

Now that they've both had a turn at watching the other in mortal danger, they can't hide what they're feeling anymore.  Of course they're both too gunshy to rush things, but it was a major step.

Tiana is being raised so differently that Tim was and it really shows the difference quite clearly to John.  That might be the clearest lesson of all.  That scene with the shoe tying is pretty much where this started in my head :)

Reviewer: Ncisrox Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2015 07:44 am Title: The Admiral

This chapter is wonderful in so many ways. I love that Tim is standing up to his father to make him see that he values his family and their happiness over the opinions of others. I love that the first boy he was with is someone the Admiral knows and always thought of as being "manly".

The Admiral doing something as simple as unplugging Tia's car to spare Tim from the need to bend down was a noticible thawing. The reactions of both men were sad in a way that firmly highlights how far apart they've managed to drift.

Yet again, Tiana steals the show. I love how she so easily accepts her grandpa, and gets him to do things he wouldn't otherwise. The hulk juice right of passage and your description of the thought processes of both men is hysterical, as is Tia's explanation of her ninja auntie.

The way Admiral McGee is watching the relationship between father and daughter makes me think there might be at least a glimmer of hope for him yet. Can't wait to see how things get complicated when SecNav shows up in the midst of all this.

Author's Response:

Thanks, I had a blast with this chapter, all of the story so far, actually.  John grew up in a Naval family, raised his children based on the idea that the Navy was the center of their universe, so it's probably quite an eye-opener to see his son living like this and to see Tiana thriving this way.  Makes him realize how instead of training Tim up to follow in his footsteps, he actually drove him further in the other direction.

Everything they do, right down to that scene with the car probably brings that point home.

Tiana has grown up without fearing any of the adults in her life.  Even Grace's mother was more of an annoyance than someone to be feared.  How would Tim have grown up under those circumstances?  John has to face that question and he might struggle with the answer to that one.

Reviewer: Gibbsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2015 09:00 am Title: The Admiral

What a great chapter.
Tiana's challenge to Grandad was brilliant.

I love Tim's outlook on love, gender doesn't matter, it's all about the heart. But I can see it continuing to be a point of contention between them for a while yet.

The walk in the park and interactions between Tim and Tiana really got the Admiral thinking, which is a good thing.
But again, I don't think it will be that easy for him and Tim to fix the rift between them. I think there are some rocky times ahead.

Can't wait for the next instalment.

Thanks again for sharing your wonderful talent with us.

Author's Response:

Thank you.  The innocence of a child can be a powerful thing.

John will struggle with this for a while, but really, what can he say?

It won't be easy, but John may be learning a few more truths along the way.  He's already learning a lot just by watching them, you're right on that.

Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: StarsinHerHair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2015 07:59 am Title: The Admiral

What a refreshing attitude Tim has about love - not the gender but the person inside. There's no real argument against that, as the Admiral seems to realize.

I love the Admiral not being able to say no to Tiana - that Hulk juice scene was great! She's going to have another conquest without even trying!

Can't wait for more!

Love, Stars

Author's Response:

Exactly, he can't come up with a stock answer to that.

John had such exact dreams for Tim that he never could see the real boy past the dream version.  With Tia, it's different.  Of course at first it is the shock factor, but after that it's probably the first time he's dealt with a child away from all those preconceived notions.  It should be quite a learning experience for the man.  A grandchild doesn't "reflect" on a grandparent quite like as on a parent and for someone like John, who puts such emphasis on appearances, that's a powerful difference and may allow him to let go of that rigid public persona.

Reviewer: kittycat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2015 08:49 am Title: The Admiral

It look like they will be ok

Author's Response:

Well, it's a start.

Reviewer: StarsinHerHair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/21/2015 04:45 pm Title: The Admiral

Love the interactions between Tim and the Admiral. Almost painfully sad, but very realistic - Tim's father does care, but either doesn't think he can, or knows how to show it. Hopefully they'll get their relationship to a much better place (even if Tiana has to drag them to it)!

Can't wait for more!

Love, Stars

Author's Response:

Thank you.  The Admiral is such an undeveloped character on the show that it's fun to take him in different directions.  He's got to let go of the version of Tim that he wanted before he can accept the version of Tim that is real.

Reviewer: Athea Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2015 12:47 am Title: The Admiral

Well, it looks like the Admiral is actually trying to understand his son, finally. But is in time? Or has too much happened in their lives that would undermine the Admiral's attempt to mend those bridges? Although, there are some good signs too. He seems truly comfortable with Tim having a daughter, the fact that her mother was gay & black just seemed to be an observation for the Adm. He didn't show any obvious signs of protest. Maybe this could work. Maybe Tim & his father could find neutral ground. Then the Adm. would be able to be a grandfather. Is it in the cards... who knows? (Yeah right, you know)
I just hope that the Adm. will be able to accept the role Gibbs plays in Tim's life. That is what I feel will be the deal breaker, the one thing that sends the Adm. over the edge. All I know is that Tim will need both of those Alpha men's help if he is going to survive the unknown assailant that believes Tim cost him a billion dollars. He's defiantly going to make a run at McGee & Tim will need all the back-up he can get.

Author's Response:

I think that for most of Tim's life, John has had a very set vision of the man he should become.  Couple that with how much time he was at sea, I can see him pushing too hard the few times he's at home. (And maybe relying on his wife a bit too much?  Yes, that was a hint.)

This is going to be fun.  Tiana being there means that they can't just fall into the old habits of fighting which is going to give John a chance to see the man his son actually grew up to be.  He might just be pleasantly surprised, and Tim might discover he needs his dad after all.

Reviewer: Gibbsfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2015 02:07 pm Title: The Admiral

Feels like my birthday. 3 chapters in a day. Woohoo.

This is going to be interesting. I love the way Tia seems to pipe in at the most difficult moments of the conversations. Think she is going to have a lot to do with keeping their relationship from breaking down totally.

Not that the admiral is going to have it easy. Good to see Tim sticking up for himself, but think that now he has Tia to protect he will be very papabear. And speak of the devil, looking forward to Gibbs arrival. That's gonna be good.

Author's Response:

Out of the mouth of babes, as they say.  Interesting, indeed, but it's time the old man's life got shaken up a bit, don't you think?

Reviewer: Gibbsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2015 12:51 pm Title: Humpty Dumpty

What a fantastic chapter.

Ducky's remake of the Great Escape LOL.
I love that mischievous side of Ducky, I can just see the twinkle in his eye.

It is great that Tim feels comfortable with Gibbs and Ducky to tell them the truth about how he is really feeling. They need to know so they can take care of him properly.

The breakfast in bed scene with Vance and Jethro made me laugh out loud, especially Jackie laughing at the double meaning of the stop hogging the bed statement. Love the humour you put into your stories.

Drinking a cuppa while reading your stories should carry a health warning. I nearly spat my tea out when I read Tim's comments about Gibbs hands on his body LOL. I thought we might get to see their first kiss after that......but looks like I'll have to wait a bit longer :-(

Fair play to Vance, love his selective hearing.

Just another brilliant chapter in a great series. Love it.
Looking forward to the Admiral.

Thanks xx

Reviewer: christella2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2015 11:52 am Title: The Admiral

I utterly love this series, adore daddy Tim and papa Gibbs.
Is the admiral the monkey with the spanner or is it the bad guys yet to appear?
more soon please !!!!!

Author's Response:

Thanks.  You'll see soon.  We've got lots going on and a lot of threads being laid out for later as usual.

No results found.
You must login () to review.
NFA Community - NCIS Fanfiction Addiction
Skin created by Kali • Icons by Mark James • Based on Default SMF Skin • Modifications by Kayla Shay • Site Banner by Nepeace